Skip to main content

A Look at Bismarck School Board Candidates

BISMARCK, ND (KFYR) – We continue our series on local election candidates in Bismarck-Mandan.

The Bismack School Board has five members, and three of those seats are in contention this year. For these three seats, ten candidates are in the running. Here is an overview of each of them.

Amanda Davis has two children in the Bismarck Public School District. She wants to bring more transparency to the school board by encouraging more community communication and would like to see more learning programs created from federal Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund grants.

Dr Emily Eckroth is a general practitioner in Bismarck. She believes that families are the primary stakeholders in their children’s education and therefore hopes to encourage greater parental involvement. She also hopes to ensure that all students have equal access to resources.

Natasha Gourd is the Executive Director of the Coalition for Indigenous Education. Her top priority is to support students in a way that reflects the values ​​of the district. She believes this means making decisions that meet the unique needs of each student.

Josh Hager is the father of three children currently enrolled in public schools in Bismarck. An accountant by trade, if elected, he hopes to focus on continued growth, teacher retention and fiscal responsibility.

Travis Jensen ran for the school board in 2018, he hopes to bridge the gap between administration and community stakeholders by increasing community involvement, which he hopes will spark discussions that will lead to solutions to issues such as bullying.

Jon Lee is the only starter to run. He was first elected in 2018 and is currently Chairman of the Board. He has children in BPS schools and his top priorities include managing the district’s rapid growth, the ever-changing needs surrounding student mental health, and maximizing district resources.

Amanda Peterson is a mother of three BPS students and has served as a state director, dean, educational coach and English teacher. She hopes to promote individualized instruction and ensure that the district achieves academic goals, allocates resources responsibly, and engages appropriately with its stakeholders, while being a good steward of public funds.

Rebecca Pitkin has been a teacher, administrator, teacher education instructor, volunteer for community organizations, member of the Dickinson School Board and currently works at the Teacher Licensing Agency. She plans to focus on teacher retention by supporting educators and developing strategies and solutions to maintain a great district during a time of growth.

Nick Thueson has five children at BPS schools. Having previously worked in municipal government and a school board, her top priority is giving children a place to succeed, providing support for educators and administrators, and representing parents and the community.

Greg Wheeler works in the media and has a son in the district. He wants to show more support for teachers and make sure everyone, from parents to teachers and children, is represented.

The election is June 14.

Copyright 2022 KFYR. All rights reserved.